Universal Declaration of Human Rights @ 60+ logo
Gathering a body of global agreements
logo of United Nations

Declaration by United Nations

A Joint Declaration by the United States of America, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, China, Australia, Belgium, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czechoslovakia, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, India, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Poland, South Africa, Yugoslavia.

The Governments signatory hereto,

Having subscribed to a common program of purposes and principles embodied in the Joint Declaration of the President of United States of America and the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland dated August 14, 1941, known as the Atlantic Charter.

Being convinced that complete victory over their enemies is essential to defend life, liberty, independence and religious freedom, and to preserve human rights and justice in their own lands as well as in other lands, and that they are now engaged in a common struggle against savage and brutal forces seeking to subjugate the world, declare:

  1. Each Government pledges itself to employ its full resources, military or economic, against those members of the Tripartite Pact and its adherents with which such government is at war.

  2. Each Government pledges itself to cooperate with the Governments signatory hereto and not to make a separate armistice or peace with the enemies.

The foregoing declaration may be adhered to by other nations which are, or which may be, rendering material assistance and contributions in the struggle for victory over Hitlerism.

Done at Washington

January First, 1942

The signatories to the Declaration by United Nations are as listed above.

The adherents to the Declaration by the United Nations, together with the date of communication of adherence, are as follows:

Mexico, June 5, 1942
Philippines, June 10, 1942
Ethiopia, July 28, 1942
Iraq, January 16, 1943
Brazil, February 8, 1943
Bolivia, April 27, 1943
Iran, September 10, 1943
Colombia, December 22, 1943
Liberia, February 26, 1944
France, December 26, 1944
Ecuador, February 7, 1945
Peru, February 11, 1945
Chile, February 12, 1945
Paraguay, February 12, 1945
Venezuela, February 16, 1945
Uruguay, February 23, 1945
Turkey, February 24, 1945
Egypt, February 27, 1945
Saudi Arabia, March 1, 1945